Dr. Kris Saunders Kris Saunders, B.Sc., B.Ed., M.D., CCFP
Family physician, Dr. Kris Saunders, completed his medical degree from Dalhousie Medical School in 2005 and his family medicine residency at Queen’s University in 2007. 
Following his education, Dr. Saunders immediately returned to home soil to practice medicine on Prince Edward Island. He established his family practice in Charlottetown, where his now-retired father used to practise. Kris has also provided care across the Island, including working as a part-time emergency department physician at the Prince County Hospital up until 2014. In 2017, Kris became the Medical Director at the Provincial Rehabilitation Unit. 
Kris is a seasoned-leader. He has served on MSPEI’s Board of Directors since 2012 and currently sits as its longest standing Board member. Through that time, he has helped lead MSPEI through a major transformation – where it is stronger than ever in supporting the medical profession while advocating for improved patient care. 
Kris, a collaborative leader, is motivated by his responsibility to continuously improve how care is delivered on the Island - for the sake of his patients and all Islanders.  Believing he co-owns that responsibility with his colleagues, government and health administrators – he works alongside his health partners to achieve results. 
Kris lives in Charlottetown with his wife, Linda, and their two children Jackson and Morgan. When not working, you will most likely find him enjoying time with his family, preferably at their cottage. 

MSPEI Board 2018 - 2019
Dr. Kris Saunders – President
Dr. Larry Pan – Chair
Dr. Scott Cameron – Treasurer
Dr. David Bannon – President-Elect
Dr. Kiley O’Neill
Dr. Jan Rogerson
Dr. Heather Austin
Dr. Krista Cassell
Dr. Gil Grimes
Dr. Frank MacDonald – Canadian Medical Association Rep

MSPEI Committees 
Finance Committee
Dr. Scott Cameron – Chair
Dr. Chris MacNearney
Dr. Trina Stewart
Mr. Colin Beck

Nominating Committee
Dr. Jill Cunniffe – Chair
Dr. Scott Campbell
Dr. Roland Chiasson
Dr. Jane Hennessey
Dr. Larry Pan

Human Resources Committee
Mr. Blake Doyle 

Physician Programs and Services Committee
Dr. Megan Armstrong – Chair
Dr. Peggy Bethune
Dr. Brad Brandon
Dr. Kathie Matheson

MSPEI Standing Committee on Physician Health
Dr. Kathie McNally
Dr. Patrick Bergin 
Dr. Tiffany Townsend 
Dr. Rob Jay 
Dr. Anne Drysdale 
Dr. Douglas Carmody 
Dr. Kris Saunders, President (ex-officio)

Physician Leadership Development Task Force
Dr. Dave Bannon
Dr. Jan Rogerson
Dr. Larry Pan
Dr. Richard Wedge
Dr. Trina Stewart

Joint Consultation Comittee (JCC) – MSPEI Reps
Dr. Brad Brandon – Co-Chair
Dr. Rob Jay
Dr. Larry Pan

Physician Resource Planning Committee (PRPC) – MSPEI Reps
Dr. Robert McKay
Dr. Lenley Adams
Dr. Kristen Mead
Dr. Lana Beth Barkhouse 

Choosing Wisely PEI
Dr. Rachel Kassner
Dr. Aimee MacKenzie
Dr. Nadine Arsenault-Samson
Dr. Kristen Mead
Dr. David Bannon
Rose Burke Perry - PEI College of Family Physicians of Canada 
Jamie MacDonald - Health PEI


Physician Health Program